SUPPLEMENTARY DATA

Participants in the meeting "The Pathogenesis and Treatment of Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes: What Can Be Unified and What Needs to Be Individualized" held on 6–7 January 2011 were the following:

Meeting Co-chairs:

Robert H. Eckel, MD, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Steven E. Kahn, MB, ChB, VA Puget Sound Health Care System and University of Washington

Session Co-chairs:

Ele Ferrannini, MD, University of Pisa, Italy

Allison B. Goldfine, MD, Joslin Diabetes Center and Harvard Medical School

David M. Nathan, MD, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital

Michael W. Schwartz, MD, University of Washington

Robert J. Smith, MD, Brown University

Steven R. Smith, MD, Florida Hospital-Burnham Clinical Research Institute

Speakers:

Caroline M. Apovian, MD, Boston University School of Medicine and Boston Medical Center

Jamy D. Ard, MD, University of Alabama

Arne V. Astrup, MD, DMSc, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

David A. D'Alessio, MD, University of Cincinnati School of Medicine and Cincinnati VA Medical Center

Judith E. Fradkin, MD, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Leif Groop, MD, PhD, Lund University, Sweden

Steven B. Heymsfield, MD, Pennington Biomedical Research Center, Louisiana State University System

Lee M. Kaplan, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School

Kenneth S. Polonsky, MD, University of Chicago

Robert E. Ratner, MD, Georgetown University Medical School and MedStar Health Research Institute

Nancy A. Rigotti, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School

Bruce M. Spiegelman, PhD, Harvard Medical School and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Panelists:

Rexford S. Ahima, MD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania

George A. Bray, MD, Pennington Biomedical Research Center, Louisiana State University System

John B. Buse, MD, PhD, University of North Carolina

John B. Dixon, MBBS, PhD, Monash University and Baker IDI Heart & Diabetes Institute, Australia

Robert W. Jeffery, PhD, University of Minnesota

Barbara B. Kahn, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School

Samuel Klein, MD, Washington University in St. Louis

John L. Leahy, MD, University of Vermont College of Medicine and Vermont Regional Diabetes Center

Rudolph L. Leibel, MD, Columbia University Medical Center and Naomi Berrie Diabetes Center and

New York Obesity Research Center

Francesco Rubino, MD, Weill Cornell Medical College and New York-Presbyterian Hospital

Philip R. Schauer, MD, Cleveland Clinic

Nicholas J. Wareham, MD, PhD, University of Cambridge